Product has been added to the basket

Council Officers


To ensure the efficient management of the Society. 

Terms of Reference

  • To advise Council on all matters relating to staff, including staffing levels, structure, conditions of service, recruitment and remuneration.
  • To oversee information and communications technology provision and infrastructure
  • To oversee management of the Society's premises and other housekeeping matters.
  • To advise Council on matters of health and safety, and to ensure that the Society adheres to appropriate health and safety standards.  


The President will chair the meeting of Officers. Membership will consist of all Officers plus the President-designate when applicable. Officers serve throughout their terms of office. The secretariat will be provided by the PA to the Executive Secretary. The Executive Secretary will attend meetings of Officers. Other members of the management team will attend by invitation. 

Method of Working

The Officers will usually meet immediately preceding Council to consider confidential or sensitive matters such as those relating to staff. Further business may be conducted by email.

Group Members


  • Dr Michael Daly (President)

Other officers

  • Dr Joel Gill (Secretary, Foreign & External Affairs)
  • Prof Jim Griffiths (Secretary, Professional Matters)
  • Dr Keith Myers (Treasurer)
  • Prof Rob Strachan (Secretary, Publications)
  • Miss Jessica Smith (Vice President)
  • Dr Alex Whittaker (Secretary, Science)

In attendance

  • Dr Richard Hughes (Executive Secretary)
  • Ms Christina Marron (Executive Assistant)